The First Tough Day

Today is the first day that I’ve really had trouble staying on plan.  I had an aggravating day at work and really wanted to go home and sip on a martini.  The problem with that is:

  1. A martini has about 200 calories, which I had not budgeted for,
  2. I have to exercise as soon as I get home or I won’t do it at all,
  3. And, most importantly, I know from past experience that it is much easier to justify snacking and really going off plan after that much alcohol.

So, what did I do to fight this craving?

First, I drank a diet coke.  I haven’t had one in a couple of days, so I thought that indulging in something else might help and it did.  Then I worked out as planned.  After that I walked the dog, which kept me distracted and out of the house.  Then it was time to fix supper.  Finally, after supper, I allowed myself a glass of wine as a reward.  A 5 oz. glass of wine has about 125 calories, compared to 200 for a martini; wine also has 10.7 grams of alcohol, compared to 22.8 grams in a martini.

Wow, the martini has over twice as much alcohol; no wonder it’s harder to stay on plan after drinking one.

Even though it was tough, I avoided the temptation and I’m proud to say that I made it through the day.

This entry was posted in Danger Zones and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

