Couch to 5K Week 4 Day 1

Today’s run was not good.

First, I realized about four minutes in that I had forgotten my chewing gum.  Let me explain why this is a big deal.  I have asthma and have to be careful about irritating my airways as this can cause an attack.  When I run outside, I don’t have water and my throat gets really dry, which is irritating to the airways.  Gum keeps this from happening.  More on this later.

Second, my ipod armband was positioned so that when I bent my arm, the thing that connects the earbud cord got jostled.  Every couple of minutes, the sound would cut out.  I finally got it positioned correctly about halfway through the run, but it was very distracting until then.

Third,  about a minute into the first jogging interval (my first five-minute interval), I looked down at my HRM watch and it said my pulse was 78.  WTF!  I knew this was inaccurate, so I held the watch up to the transmitter so it could get a new reading.  This did not help, so I tried adjusting the transmitter.  Yes, I”m running down a neighborhood street in the light of day with my hands under my shirt messing around with my bra.  The pulse reading went up to around 150, which is more like it, but the same thing happened during the second jogging interval.

I was having a harder time with the run than I had anticipated, but I attributed it to all the distractions.  Then I started the last five-minute jogging interval and I realized that my breathing was much more strained than it should be.  I also started to get a particular kind of headache that accompanies an asthma flare-up.  I was not getting enough oxygen and I had to stop and walk.  I tried to jog again after a minute, but I couldn’t do it anymore.  So I walked most of the last five-minute interval, plus the five-minute cooldown.

Day 2 will be better.  It has to be.

Workout Summary:

60 minutes total exercise:
Modified C25K program: warmup 5 minutes, jog 4, walk 2, jog 5, walk 3, jog 3, walk 2, jog 5, cooldown 5.
8 sets on the AbLounge
Power Yoga for Beginners

HRM Stats:

342 calories
Avg HR 119, Max HR 168
Avg HR% 66, Max HR% 94
In Zone (114-144) 0:21:09

This entry was posted in Running, Yoga and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Couch to 5K Week 4 Day 1

  1. breefawn says:

    Sounds like you listened to your body and did a great job! It’s important (especially since you’re prone to have an attack) that you do that. And you did!! KUDOS! Day 2 will be better 🙂 I am SO proud of you!! Maybe your HRM needs new batteries??

  2. Pingback: Couch to 5K Week 4 Day 2 - a great run and a small adventure « Becoming a Fit Chick

Leave a Reply

