Couch to 5K Week 4 Day 2 – a great run and a small adventure

Yes!  I love to run!  Today totally made up for Saturday.

I ran on the treadmill, which is usually easier than running outside, so I had no doubt that I would complete all the intervals.  I was watching the timer during the last part of the 5-minute intervals, but stopping was not an option.  I left the incline at zero for the jogs, but kicked it up during the walking intervals, so that my heart rate stayed up.

After I finished the run, I did my ab work and was setting up my yoga mat when I heard the dog barking incessantly.  I looked at the window and I could immediately tell that she had caught something.  She would throw the something up in the air then bark at it when it landed.  Over and over.

It was a small something and I thought it might be a baby turtle.  I started to ignore the situation until I finished my workout, then I imagined picking up turtle pieces from the yard.  Gak.

So I paused my HRM and went out to investigate.  This is the first time the dog has caught something and she was SO excited.  She ran to my side and sat, vibrating with pride.

Then I spotted the something.   It was not a turtle; it was a mole.  If you’ve never seen a mole, they are horrid, eyeless creatures with weird little pink flipper-feet.mole3 They are destroying my yard.  I don’t feel nearly as warm and fuzzy about moles as I do about turtles.  However, if you’ve ever had a dog, you know that they often have disgusting personal habits, not the least of which is rolling around in vile-smelling things like dead animals. Double gak.

So I tricked the dog into going inside the fence (I didn’t want to get into a tug-of-war over the mole) and set out to find a way to pick up the critter without actually touching it.  I found a little flat piece of wood in my shed and a yard-tool that I could use as a scraper.  When I attempted to to scoot the mole onto the wood, it moved.  I jumped.  I managed to capture it and speed-walked to the woods to set it free.  I almost made it, when the mole started moving – TOWARD MY HAND.  I shrieked and dropped it into the pine straw.  I should mention that the neighbor’s teenage boy was watching this whole spectacle.

I survived the experience and, since I had on my HRM, I know that my heart rate stayed above 130 the whole time.  Apparently mole-wrangling is good cardio.

Workout Summary:

60 minutes total exercise:
Modified C25K program: warmup 5 minutes, jog 3, walk 2, jog 5, walk 3, jog 3, walk 2, jog 5, cooldown 5.
8 sets on the AbLounge
Power Yoga for Beginners

HRM Stats:

342 calories
Avg HR 127, Max HR 162
Avg HR% 71, Max HR% 91
In Zone (114-144) 0:31:35

This entry was posted in Couch to 5K, Running, Yoga and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Couch to 5K Week 4 Day 2 – a great run and a small adventure

  1. Pingback: Couch to 5K Week 4 Day 3 « Becoming a Fit Chick

Leave a Reply

