Couch to 5K W5D1

OMG, I’m exhausted.  Today’s workout was amazing, but it took everything out of me.

I did Day 1 of Week 5 today and I ran outside, since it was Saturday.  The heat had more of an impact than I had anticipated.  I thought that if I was finished running before the temperature got to 80, I would be fine.  I didn’t take into account that the last leg of my route is both uphill and in full sun.  The last five minute jogging interval was tough, but I made it all the way through.  I’ll have to get out earlier on Saturday mornings from now on.  Next week won’t be a problem – the 5K I’m registered for starts at 8:00.

After I got back from my run, I did ab work, then I went outside for my yoga practice.  I’ve wanted to do yoga outside for awhile, but a) the weather has been crappy, and b) all my yoga programs are on dvd.  But I found a great set of FREE programs on iTunes (also available at yogadownload.com.  I tried “Yoga for Runners” today.  The program was great.  It kicked my butt.    There were some poses I’ve never done, but you can print out pictures of the poses in sequence.  Almost 1/3 of the calories I burned during the workout were doing yoga.

Doing yoga outside was definitely an experience.  I liked the feeling of being part of nature.  But it was boiling hot.  I’ve never done Bikram (Hot) Yoga, but I feel like I got a taste of it today.  I had to keep my socks on the whole time, because my feet were so sweaty, I kept slipping around on the mat.  I kept eyeing the pool, thinking about stripping down and diving in (next time).  I wondered what the dog’s response  to outdoor yoga would be.  She sniffed around at my mat when I was setting up, but then watched from the shade (smart dog).  Then I got to corpse pose (lying flat on my back with eyes closed), which was too much temptation – the next thing I knew, she was licking my face.

Workout Summary:

67 minutes total exercise:
C25K program: warmup 5 min., jog 5, walk 3, jog 5, walk 3, jog 5, cooldown 5
Tamilee Webb I Want Those Abs
Yoga for Runners

HRM Stats:

509 calories
Avg HR 134, Max HR 175
Avg HR% 75, Max HR% 98
In Zone (121-151) 0:28:29

Today’s Playlist:

Justify My Love – Madonna
Desire – U2
Pride (In the Name of Love) – U2
The Good Life – Cracker
Hazy Shade of Winter – Bangles
Borderline – Madonna
Rio – Duran Duran
Crazy on You – Heart
Born to Run – Bruce Springsteen
If You Intend – 10,000 Maniacs
Slide – Goo Goo Dolls

Coming up Monday – my first 8-minute run. . .and there are two of them.  Yikes.

This entry was posted in Couch to 5K, Fitness, Running, Yoga and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Couch to 5K W5D1

  1. Pingback: Couch to 5K Week 6 Day 3 « Becoming a Fit Chick

Leave a Reply

