Weekly Meal Planning

Since I started this program (excuse me, lifestyle change), I’ve been planning my meals ahead of time on a weekly basis.  That may seem like a lot of trouble (and sometimes it is), but it helps me stay on plan and meet not only my calorie goals, but also my nutritional goals.  Also, I really like getting home from work and knowing what I’m having for supper.  I think about my meal plan on the weekend and then I don’t have to think about it at all during the week.  It’s also helping me establish good habits to see me through the long run.

As I said, sometimes planning is a lot of trouble and this weekend was one of those times.  I had a hard time getting my head in the game, plus I had a lot of other stuff I wanted and needed to be doing.  But, I had a revelation today while mowing the yard (one of the things I needed to do.)

I have six weeks worth of meal plans in my computer.  I don’t have to start from scratch each week; I can reuse my weekly plans.

I use a program called FitDay (which I will review another day) to track my food.   So, I’m going to print out my plan from Week 1 and go from there.  I still want to try one new recipe a week to keep things fresh.  I can also make substitions based on the fresh fruits and veggies that I find at the grocery store.  In addition, I’m making one or two changes to my diet each week to make it more healthful.  For example, last week I started incorporating fish at least once a week and using spinach for half my salad greens.  This week, instead of just trying to eat five servings of fruits/vegetables a day, I’m making sure I get at least two servings of fruits and at least three servings of vegetables, as the Food Pyramid suggests.  But these are all just tweaks, which are much easier than trying to come up with a week’s worth of menus at a time.

I’m off to start tweaking.

This entry was posted in Nutrition, What I'm Eating and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

