Couch to 5K W5D3

The Run

Yes, today was the big one.  The first 20-minute run.  And I did it!

It really is all mental.  I went in with the knowledge that I would complete this run.  Failure was not an option.  I did play a little mind-game with myself, like I did on Monday.  Today, I used the fan on my treadmill.  It’s a two-speed fan and I made a deal with myself that I could turn it on after the second song on my playlist finished; then I could turn it up after the fourth song.  This gave me something to look forward to (I was dripping sweat) and kept my focus off the clock.

The Nike Plus

Yes, my reward came today, so of course, I had to try it out.  I’m glad I had the chance to test it before my 5K on Saturday.  I’ve been putting a slower song at the top of my playlist for stretching; it’s five-minutes long, which lets me measure my stretching time by the length of the song.  However, the Nike + counted that time as part of the run.  It also kept telling me that my workout had paused when I was doing seated stretches, which was annoying.  I’ll leave the “stretchy” song out of my playlists from now on and just play it separately before I start the run.

I can’t wait to play with it some more and learn about the website.

Workout Summary:

67 minutes total exercise:
C25K program: warmup 5 min., jog 20, cooldown 5
Tamilee Webb I Want Those Abs
Yoga for Runners

HRM Stats:

427 calories
Avg HR 124, Max HR 162
Avg HR% 69, Max HR% 91
In Zone (121-151) 0:16:24

Today’s Playlist:

Justify My Love – Madonna
Slide – Goo Goo Dolls
Into the Groove – Madonna
Viva La Vida – Coldplay
The Good Life – Cracker
Hazy Shade of Winter – The Bangles
Born to Run – Bruce Springsteen
My Freeze Ray – Neil Patrick Harris
I Hear the Bells – Mike Doughty
Smooth – Santana & Rob Thomas

This entry was posted in Couch to 5K, Running and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

