Couch to 5K – W8D3

I cannot believe that I’ve completed Week 8.  Only one week until graduation!

I ran outside today, for the first time since I did the 5K a month ago.  I had been trying to run outside once a week, but between vacation and illness, treadmill runs were all I could manage and/or work into my schedule.

Today was very different experience.  The weather was beautiful – sunny, but not too hot, with a slight breeze.  This was the first outdoor run since I stopped doing intervals, which I didn’t realize until just now.  I started out strong; I had a little trouble with my pace, but by the second song, I was in a groove.   There were a lot of people out walking this morning and a few people biking with kids, but no one else was running.  I don’t know how to explain it, but today I really felt like a runner.  I wasn’t self-conscious at all.  I felt like my feet were springing back with each step.  Somehow, it just seemed perfectly natural.

The past few times I’ve run outside, I just went half the time and then turned around.  However, there’s a loop through town that is very popular with walkers and joggers.  So today, I decided to do the whole loop.  I’d never measured it, but I kind of thought it would be about 3 miles.  I figured if I finished my 28-minute run, I could just walk the rest of the way and get in a little extra exercise.

Now, I am a really bad judge of distance – always have been.  I realized when I hit the 14-minute mark, that I was way past halfway around the loop.  I started going through various options in my head.  One – I could just continue around the loop for a few minutes, then turn back toward the car.  Two – I could take off in a different direction for a few minutes, then turn back toward the car.  I wasn’t excited about either of these options.  Then I started thinking, hey, I could stop at the car and drink some water.  My throat immediately started to get dry.  When I got to the last bit of the loop, it was like my car was a homing beacon pulling me in.  All I could think was “almost there, almost there.”

The next thing I knew, I was sitting in the car, drinking water and driving away!  And I still had 6 minutes to go to hit 28 minutes!  However, I did have the presence of mind to pause the Nike + program, which told me that I had gone 2.3 miles.  I’d been hitting about 2.3 miles in the full 28-minute run (plus warm-up) on days 1 and 2 (yes, I run SLOOOWW).  Apparently, my pace was quite a bit faster than what I’d been doing on the treadmill.

It’s a four or five minute drive to my house from the rec center, and by the time I got home, I thought, hey why not do the rest of the 28-minutes on the treadmill, so I did.  Then I did 12 minutes of Ab Jam and 30 minutes of Power Yoga.

So, in a way, I wimped out on the run, because I didn’t do the whole 28-minutes outside, but I did do the distance and then ran some more.  I’m going to call it a success.

This entry was posted in Couch to 5K, Running and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Couch to 5K – W8D3

  1. Sweet Pea says:

    Sounds like a good run, I love running outside, and hate the treadmill, not sure why, considering its air conditioned and all. Keep up the good work.

    Visiting from the Shrinking jeans, welcome!

  2. Brooke says:

    good for you – you pushed through when it was difficult. that’s the kind of dedication this takes! but you know for next time you can do it all outside.

    (i’m also a SSJ visitor)

  3. Ann G says:

    Sounds like you have a great routine going….just wanted to welcome you to the Sisterhood of Shrinking Jeans!!

  4. Pingback: Couch to 5K – Graduation Day « Becoming a Fit Chick

Leave a Reply

