Couch to 5K – Graduation Day

Nine weeks completed.  Wow.

It was a beautiful day today.  We’ve had a little cold snap the last few days, so it was only 76 when I went to run at 9:00 this morning.  I ran the same loop as last Saturday, but I went 20 minutes, then turned around and retraced my steps.  I did this to avoid the temptation inherent in going past my car.  There were a lot more people out walking and quite a few runners, so that was fun.  I felt like I was part of the “club.”

After the run (which was 2.8 miles according to the Nike+), I did some ab-work then a long (45-minute) Power Yoga practice.  I didn’t think I was going to make it through the yoga, because my legs, particularly my quads, were so fatigued.

I spent the rest of the day lounging by the pool and reading Runner’s World.  Now I’m all motivated for the next training program.

So, what is the next training program?  I’m actually shaking things up and taking a semi-break from running for a couple of weeks.  My program has been running for cardio 3 days a week, FIRM or similar workout videos 2 to 3 days a week and yoga 3 to 4 days a week.  For the next two weeks, I’m going to do Jillian Michael’s 30-Day Shred, swim, and try Pilates.  Since I don’t know what kind of calorie-burn this will have, I may end up running a couple of days a week in order to meet my goal of burning 3000-3500 calories a week.  We’ll see how that goes.

If you are wondering about the 2-week time frame, it’s because it will complete my first 90 days.  Then I will start the second 90-day cycle on June 21 with another running program (tbd).

In related news, I weighed in at 157.5 this morning.  I started at 175, so I’ve lost 17.5 pounds.  10%.  It’s a nice milestone.

Workout Summary:

90 minutes total exercise

C25K program: warmup 5 min., jog 30, cooldown 5
Tamilee Webb’s I Want Those Abs
Rodney Yee’s Power Yoga Total Body

HRM Stats:

583 calories
Avg HR 128, Max HR 164
Avg HR% 72, Max HR% 92
In Zone (120-150) 0:12:32

And rounding things out with a quote from John Bingham in Runner’s World, which I think sums up the Couch to 5K experience:  “The miracle isn’t that I finished.  The miracle is that I had the courage to start.”

This entry was posted in 30-Day Shred, Couch to 5K, Running, Success Stories and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Couch to 5K – Graduation Day

  1. Congrats!!! I just finished W4D3 tonight. 🙂

Leave a Reply

